Samsung preloads its own apps on its Android devices, including replacements for stock apps like the phone dialer and SMS software, as well as more advanced note-taking and WhatsApp competitor apps. But app away though they may, very few people are actually using them according to a new survey detailed by the Wall Street Journal. instead, people are using the apps you’d expect to be popular, including Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.

Here’s why I don’t find that surprising: Samsung’s apps are the only ones from a major Android OEM that actively send me scurrying for alternatives even when I’m just using a device for a brief period to review it for the site. Generally speaking, I’m a fan of stock apps and enjoy that Android lets you use third-party apps instead of the default options anyway (hello is my current favorite for SMS, for instance). But with others, including…

View original post 221 more words

